In Florida, a speeding ticket can result in expensive fines. You can also receive driving record points that put your license in jeopardy.
Review the penalties for a speeding offense in Sarasota County before facing a court date for this type of ticket.
Each Florida county sets its own fee schedule for traffic violations. Fines for a speeding ticket in Sarasota County vary as follows:
- $131 for traveling 1 to 9 miles per hour over the speed limit ($156 in a construction or school zone)
- $206 for 10 to 14 mph over the speed limit ($306 in a construction or school zone)
- $256 for 15 to 19 mph over the speed limit ($406 in a construction or school zone)
- $281 for 20 to 29 mph over the speed limit ($456 in a construction or school zone)
If you receive a ticket for going more than 30 mph above the speed limit, you must appear in court.
Driving record points
All speeding ticket convictions carry three driver’s license points in Florida. You will receive a license suspension for 30 days if you get 12 points in a 12-month period. Eighteen points in an 18-month period will result in a three-month license suspension. If you receive 24 points in 36 months, the suspension period extends to a year.
Even if you receive a license suspension, you may be able to apply for a hardship license. This restricted document gives you permission to drive to work and school only.