You must have auto insurance for your vehicle to operate in Florida. In fact, you must show proof of automobile insurance before registering a car in the state.
If you are caught driving without insurance, you may face severe consequences, including fines and license suspension.
Here is what you should know:
The state has a law mandating the minimum level of coverage
In Florida, a driver must have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and a minimum of $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL). Vehicles registered as taxis must have a bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person and $250,000 per occurrence. Taxis should also have a $50,000 PDL coverage.
What can happen if you drive without insurance?
You must be covered throughout your vehicle registration period whether you use the vehicle or it’s inoperable. If you are caught driving without insurance, your driving privilege and license plate may be suspended for up to 3 years.
If you want to cancel your insurance, you should return your license plate to the state (in person or via mail to a local driver license and motor vehicle service center) before canceling. If you fail to maintain your insurance coverage, you may pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500, and your driving privileges/registration can be suspended.
If you are accused of driving without insurance, consider getting legal help to make informed decisions.