Many Sarasota residents believe that seemingly minor traffic violations cannot put their driving license at risk. If you only violated one or two traffic laws over several years, driver’s license suspension probably will not be an issue. However, committing many “minor” violations will lead to the accumulation of points against your license.
When you have too many points against your license, you could lose it before you even realize it is in danger. Below, we will discuss the Florida points system and tell you how you could lose your right to operate a vehicle.
What is the point system?
In Florida, you accumulate points on your license each time you violate a traffic law. For example, you acquire three points each time you get caught violating seat belt laws. When you see you are accumulating points, you should practice additional caution to protect your license and avoid increased insurance costs.
If you accumulate 12 points against your license inside of 12-months, you will lose your license for 30 days. The accumulation of 18 or more points within 18 months means the loss of your driving privileges for three months. The more violations on your record, the longer the loss of your license.
The more serious the violation, the more points you accumulate!
Three is the lowest number of points you can acquire for any violation. You will get three points for infractions such as failure to yield when required and having an open alcohol container in your car.
More severe infractions such as leaving the scene of an accident and reckless driving will cost you six and four points, respectively. As such, if you receive a citation for reckless driving three times within 12 months, your driving privileges are at extreme risk.
Do yourself a favor and learn more about Florida traffic laws and driver’s license suspension, including how to defend against these infractions. As always, we encourage you to drive safely!