Teen drivers must follow certain laws in Florida designed to reduce the number of fatal accidents among this age group. Parents can help their teens become safe drivers by enforcing these limits for new license-holders.
Review the driving regulations that apply to Florida minors and the penalties for violations of these laws.
If a minor gets a ticket for a moving violation within a year of getting his or her license, the penalty is a one-year extension of the learner’s license provisions. A young driver who gets six driving record points in 12 months will receive a 12-month license suspension, with an extra 90 days for each additional point.
The state also has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers younger than 21. An arrest with a blood alcohol level of 0.02% or higher results in a six-month license suspension; a second offense carries a 12-month license suspension. Teens who refuse to take a sobriety test at the scene will receive a one-year suspension for the first offense.
Minors must remain in school to retain a driver’s license until they graduate high school. Failure to do so can result in a license suspension until the child can prove that he or she has attended school for at least 30 days in a row.
A driver under 18 will also receive a 30-day license suspension for nicotine or tobacco possession. Parents can also cancel their permission for their child’s license at any time, which will result in suspension until the minor turns 18.