You could face a license suspension for various traffic infractions in Florida. If the court or the Department of Motor Vehicles suspends your license, you cannot legally drive unless you receive special permission to drive for specific purposes.
According to the Florida Statutes, if an officer pulls you over and discovers you are driving under suspension, you can face further criminal penalties. The penalties depend on if this is your first charge of driving under suspension or if you have previous convictions.
If this is the first time you have faced charges for driving with a suspended license, you will face a second-degree misdemeanor charge. The court could fine you up to $500 and also give you up to 60 days in jail.
If this is the second charge you have on your record, the court could fine you up to $1,000. You could also face up to one year in jail. It is a first-degree misdemeanor.
When you face driving under suspension for the third time, the court could give you a sentence of up to five years in prison. You also face a fine of up to $5,000. When you have three convictions, it becomes a third-degree felony. Not only will you face the penalties from the court, but you also will have the penalties that come with a felony, such as loss of rights.
The prosecution only has to prove that you knew about your license suspension to get a guilty charge from the court. This is often easy to do because the DMV will send you a notice in the mail that alerts you to your suspension.