Florida law is stringent regarding underage driving. Any child below the age of 15 is not allowed in front of the wheel, and when caught driving, both the child and the parent may face serious consequences. For the first offense of minor driving without a license, the court may consider this a misdemeanor offense.
According to Florida Statutes, nobody shall allow a minor to drive or operate a vehicle knowingly if they are not licensed. If this happens, it may put the child’s future at risk, as this may reflect into their criminal record. Minor driving also puts the parent in jeopardy because they can get their driver’s license revoked or even face jail terms.
For the first offense of minor driving without a license, they will face a misdemeanor charge, which involves 60 days in jail and a fine of $500. A repeat of this offense attracts a jail term of up to one year and a fine not exceeding $1,000. The third offense attracts a jail time of up to five years, a fine of up to $5000 and severe consequences on future driving privileges.
According to Kids and the Law, if the court finds an adult guilty of allowing the minor to drive, they will also face serious consequences the same as those of the child. These include misdemeanor charges, jail time, and fines. They can also risk losing their driver’s license.
The good news is that all hope is not lost in such cases because there are still possible defenses that can convince the judge to close the case. There are different reasons that the offender can present in court to justify why the minor operated a vehicle.