It probably comes as no surprise to you that the state can suspend your license for offenses related to driving. However, according to the Sun-Sentinel, of the 2 million Florida drivers with suspended licenses, approximately 285,000 of them are for offenses having nothing to do with driving.
Drivers who are also minors may see their licenses suspended for offenses such as possession of a firearm, graffiti or vandalism, possession of alcohol or tobacco or sexting, i.e., sending sexually explicit images to someone else electronically, as well as truancy. However, adult drivers are also at risk for license suspension for non-driving offenses that include the following:
- Missing a court date
- Skipping traffic school
- Not making child support payments
- Missing an auto insurance payment
- Writing a check that bounces
The state often mails the notice of license suspension to the address listed on the license. However, if you have recently moved and that address is out of date, then you may have no idea of your license suspension until a law enforcement officer pulls you over and informs you of it. At that point, you may face a fine of $500 for driving with a suspended license. You could also serve up to 60 days in jail.
The cruel irony is that without a driver’s license, you may not be able to get to work to earn money to pay the fine and get your license back. For this reason, some Florida counties have programs in place that give drivers options for resolving their cases and reinstating their licenses.
A Florida state senator has repeatedly introduced legislation that would offer alternatives to low-income drivers and reduce the number of non-driving offenses that can result in license suspension. The legislation has yet to pass.
The information in this article is not intended as legal advice but provided for educational purposes only.