Florida has a graduated license program for teen drivers, which has specific requirements for those aged 15 to 17. After the license holder turns 18, the state grants full driving privileges.
If your teen is learning to drive, understand the regulations for each type of license so you can encourage him or her to stay safe and avoid legal penalties.
Sometimes called a learner’s permit, this license is available for Florida residents at least 15 years old who have parental consent. The applicant must pass a written knowledge exam, vision test and hearing test and complete the state’s traffic law and substance abuse education course. Drivers with a learner’s license can only operate a vehicle in the presence of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
For the initial three months after receiving a learner’s license, a minor can only drive during daylight hours. After three months, he or she can drive only until 10 p.m. To graduate to the next level, the driver must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, including 10 nighttime hours. He or she must also have a learner’s license for at least a year or until turning 18.
Driver’s license for ages 16 and 17
Even after receiving a full driver’s license, underage drivers can only drive during certain hours unless traveling to or from work or with a licensed driver who is at least 21. The restricted hours are 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. for 16-year-old drivers and 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. for 17-year-old drivers.
Violating these regulations with a full license can result in a driver’s license suspension of at least six months. Drivers who receive a traffic ticket or violate the rules governing a learner’s licenses will not be eligible for a full license for one year from the date of the violation. In addition, the court may levy fees and financial penalties for drivers who misuse a limited license.