There are a few ways you can have your driver’s license suspended in Florida. Failure to pay traffic fines is one such way that can cause a suspension. Once you have a suspended license, there are a few things you need to do to reinstate it.
MyImprov.com is a driving school that operates in the state that offers a variety of helpful information for drivers and soon-to-be-drivers alike. If the state suspended your license for failure to own car insurance, you could pay a fine of $150 to reinstate it plus any additional fines. That is significantly higher than the standard $45 fee. Drug and alcohol reasons could cost you $130 while being delinquent in child support or failing to pay traffic tickets can cost you $60.
Not to mention these fines for reinstatement, the court wants you to complete other items as assigned. If you have a suspended license related to a drug offense, you may also need to complete any probation or jail time and a drug and alcohol course. Taking a defensive driving class can help if you have unpaid traffic tickets.
Keep in mind that you have to go to a participating DMV as not all in the state can help you. You can go online to the Florida HSMV to check to see if your license has actually been suspended. Once you input your insurance policy number, driver license number and/or social security number, the system lets you know the status. Then contact your local DMV to see what you owe and if they can help you.
This information is intended only to educate and should not be interpreted as legal advice.